Broccoli Patties

I have seen recipes for Broccoli bites, broccoli tots, patties etc.  When I opened my Cuisinart I immediately began thinking of all the things I wanted to make with it.  My first was broccoli.

The recipes I have seen have you make the mixture and shape them into patties on parchment to bake but making you turn them over halfway through.  The turning over is usually where my plans go to hell and take the meal with them.  So I went my own way.

My take on “Broccoli Patties” is listed below.  Pardon the pictures – they are less than photographer worthy but they are my own.  At the end I paired the veg with a lovely filet of Cod – seasoned with lemon and Old Bay.

 

16 ounces steamable broccoli - I used Daily Chef steamer bag from Sam's Club
4 ounces Banana Pepper Rings
1/2 an Onion
2 eggs or 1/2 Cup Egg Substitute [EggBeater etc]
1/2 cup Ground Rolled oats or Bread Crumbs
1 Tablespoon Ground Raw Ginger
1 to 1 1/2 Teaspoon Old Bay
1 to 1 1/2 Teaspoon Garlic powder
1 1/2 cup Shredded Cheese

Warm up or thaw your frozen broccoli.  Blanch your broccoli if you are using fresh.

Using the mixing blade chop the broccoli as fine as you desire.  I chopped mine to absolute mush.  Dump the broccoli in a large mixing bowl.  Take the onion and cut into chunks prior to placing in food processor.  Throw in the banana peppers and spices and chop.  Dump that mixture in the large mixing bowl with the broccoli.  Add the remaining ingrediant and mix until combined.  Spoon mixture into muffin tin that has been sprayed with Pam or equivelent.  I filled each space halfway for a thinner more patty like result.  if you wish a larger muffin then fill with desired amount.  Bake 375 20-30 minutes.

I used MyFitnessPal.com to log the recipe as I made it.  I made seasoned breadcrumbs out of rolled oats and did not use real eggs.  Adding the ingredients that I used and making each patty a serving I was given the breakdown listed below. If you are changing you eating lifestyle [diet is another “4” letter word to me] this website comes in handy to see what your intake is and I highly recommend it. My Fitness Pal

 

Leave a Reply

